Loading Events

« All Events

Exploring Gender, Sexuality, and Intersectionality in Eating Disorder Treatment Alsana Webinar

April 24 @ 9:00 am - 10:30 am PDT

Join Sam Houston, MA, ALC, NCC, Jacqueline San Nicolas, APCC, and Jesse McKee, LMFT, for a webinar on “Exploring Gender, Sexuality, and Intersectionality in Eating Disorder Treatment” The webinar begins Wednesday, April 24, at 9:00 AM PT/11:00 AM CT/ 12:00 PM ET. We are offering 1 CE hour through APA, CDR, and NBCC for live attendance.

 

Abstract:
While there has been continued progress in the field of eating disorder treatment, spaces and places within the field continue to present as inhibitive to the needs of clients with marginalized identities. This presentation will provide an overview of the importance in assessing and understanding clients’ intersecting identities and the impact these have on the maintenance of eating disorder behaviors. We will dive into the conceptualization of gender and sexuality, including unique challenges faced by those who are gender non-conforming. Additionally, this presentation will discuss considerations in working with clients in the BIPOC community, with specific assessment tools and interventions to support clients of marginalized identities with opportunities to seek recovery in a trusting and inclusive space.

Objectives:
– Learn how intersecting identities impact the maintenance of eating disorder behaviors, particularly as it pertains to gender, sexuality, and marginalized identities
– Understand the particular challenges faced by clients of marginalized identities
– Identify assessments and interventions to support clients of marginalized identities more effectively in eating disorder treatment

9:00 am-9:10 am PT- Welcome
9:10 am-10:10 am PT- CE Presentation
10:10 am-10:30 am PT- Optional Q&A