Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Eating Disorders and Diabetes: Using the Adaptive Care Model for Whole-Person Treatment

September 26, 2023 @ 9:00 am - 10:30 am PDT

Join Ali Beckman, MS, RD, LD, CEDS-S, for a webinar on “Eating Disorders and Diabetes: Using the Adaptive Care Model for Whole-Person Treatment.” The webinar begins Tuesday, September 26, 2023, at 9:00 AM PT/ 11:00 AM CT/ 12:00 PM ET. We are offering 1 CE hour through APA, CDR, and NBCC for live attendance.

Abstract:
Diabulimia, a colloquial term referring to the dual-diagnosis of an eating disorder and diabetes, can be complex in its treatment due to the long-term complications of both conditions. In this presentation, we will define diabulimia, review common symptoms and health risks of the diagnosis, and review treatment practices for each dimension of Alsana’s Adaptive Care Model. Alsana believes in a full-person approach, requiring the full interdisciplinary team to be aligned in terms of treatment goals and interventions.

Objectives:
– Define diabulimia through the lens of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition (DSM-V)
– Identify risk factors and symptoms of diabulimia
– Understand health complications of diabulimia
– Recognize at least two interventions for diabulimia from each dimension of the Adaptive Care Model (nutrition, therapy, medical, movement, relational)
– Understand Alsana’s treatment options for diabulimia

Agenda:
9:00am – 9:15am PT- Welcome
9:15am – 10:15am PT- Presentation
10:15am – 10:30am PT- Q&A